Due to the risk of COVID 19, West Cork Heritage Centre, Bandon is closed to visitors until further notice.
Visitors come to our centre singly and collectively from many countries and also from the local community.
We will continue to operate for general enquries regarding Heritage and Genealogy matters.
Please contact us at:
Phone: 00353 (0)23 8844193 / 00353 (0)87 9756029
In the interests of our staff and our community we feel obligated to make this decision at this time.
About West Cork Heritage Centre
Housed in the former Christchurch on North Main Street Bandon, this unique and charming exhibition transports visitors through time to experience Bandon town as it was in time’s past.
Christchurch dates back to circa 1610 and is built on the site of a Danish Fort. It was one of the earliest Protestant churches in Ireland and was a church for 363 years. It was deconsecrated in 1973. Some Bandon church records are held at the West Cork Heritage Centre.
A portion of the old Bandon walls are part of the structure of the building. The church now hosts a series of exhibitions with the theme of Bandon’s history. Visitors can see replicas of an old shop, school, kitchen and forge. The current exhibition also includes the old town stocks and memorabilia from Bandon’s time as a garrison town.
School tours are welcome. Please contact us to arrange group visits in advance.